Marni for H&M, African print and a big launch

The MArni for H&M collection hit the H&M stores yesterday. There is an earlier post about Marni and how this collection had African textiles combined in it. Do you wonder how It went? I do to. The following question always arises whenever a designer launches a collection for H&M: Does this designer do it like Cavalli did? This collection actually had especially women waiting at sharp time in the morning behind the door of H&M. The Sales went crazy.

According to Vogue UK, H&M London had the collection sold out by lunch. Also, the H&M store in Amsterdam had a full crowd waiting on the doors to open.

It is an amazing thing to see collections, which are inspired by African fashion in the stores and on the runway. However, critics find it quiet unfair that major brands are making money of something which is traditional to us Africans. Then again, a Marni for H&M dress with a twist of African print costs about 129EUR and a taylor made dress with the same textile by a local taylor costs less and less cheaper. Beautiful at one point, but then ridiculous at another point.

Below are images of the MArni for H&M collection launch, thanks to Vogue UK and girlscene.

Read the earlier post about Marni 

3 comments
  1. mahunan@hotmail.com said:

    I was wondering the exact same things so thank you for posting this. Glad to see our African prints are getting so much attention but kind of smh to only see such an interest when a designer like Marni comes in the picture. What happens to brands such as I wear African or Je suis? They’re doing it way better in my opinion. Anyways, just my 2 cents.

  2. Thanks for the writeup. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  3. I was on Twitter looking for Neiko Automotive Tools when I found a link to this blog, happy I stopped by Cheers

Thank you for you comment. Be blessed. ABINA